OCT 31 – NOV 4, 2018    Omni Grove Park Inn—Asheville, NC

About the Symposium


Respiratory syncytial virus (RSV) is a significant human pathogen that is associated with upper and lower respiratory disease particularly among young infants and the elderly. Annually, RSV remains among the leading causes of hospitalization and mortality of young infants. Yet, there remains no vaccine and limited therapeutic options for treatment.

About the Meeting

Since its inception in 1996, the International RSV symposia remains the longest ongoing meeting to discuss RSV and has seen continual growth in both meeting attendance and abstracts. This event remains the premier meeting to bring together leading scientists, students, non-profits, regulators, sponsors, and leaders in industry from all over the world to discuss past and current efforts to understand, treat, and hopefully one day prevent RSV disease. The 11th International Respiratory Syncytial Virus Symposium will be held at the Omni Grove Park Inn in beautiful Asheville, NC USA from October 31 to November 4, 2018.

Past International Meeting Locations and Attendees

1st Meeting Nov 9 – 12, 1996 Kiawah Island Resort, SC USA 107 Attendees
2nd Meeting Nov 8 – 11, 1999 Stuart, FL USA 165 Attendees
3rd Meeting Oct 1 – 3, 2001 Segovia, Spain 193 Attendees
4th Meeting Nov 8 – 11, 2003 Stone Mountain, GA USA 209 Attendees
5th Meeting Sept 15 – 18, 2005 Oxford, United Kingdom 200 Attendees
6th Meeting Oct 25 – 28, 2007 Marco Island, FL USA 188 Attendees
7th Meeting Dec 2 – 5, 2010 Rotterdam, Netherlands 200 Attendees
8th Meeting Sept 27 – 30, 2012 Sante Fe, NM USA 257 Attendees
9th Meeting Nov 9 – 13, 2014 Stellenbosch, South Africa 321 Attendees
10th Meeting Sept 28 – Oct 1, 2016 Bariloche, Argentina 300+ Attendees

The Chanock Award

Dr. Robert Chanock (1924 – 2010) was a prominent virologist in the RSV community and led the discovery of RSV in 1957. Spending most of his life at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases in Bethesda, MD USA, he made considerable significant contributions to our early understanding of RSV. Beginning with the 2003 meeting, the Chanock Award has been awarded to one or two leading scientists in the RSV community for their major contributions to understanding RSV.

The past award recipients are shown below:

  • 2016   Ruth Karron and José Melero
  • 2014   Barney Graham
  • 2012   Peter Openshaw
  • 2010   Peter Collins
  • 2007   Caroline Hall
  • 2005   Gail Wertz
  • 2003   Brian Murphy


For questions please contact us by email.

Event Organizers

Organizing Committee

Martin Moore, Ph.D. - Chair
CEO, Meissa Vaccines, Inc.

Natasha Halasa, M.D., M.P.H. – Co-Chair
Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Vanderbilt University

Christopher Stobart, Ph.D. – Co-Chair
Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences, Butler University

International Committee

L.J. Bont, M.D.,Ph.D.
Professor of Pediatric Respiratory Infections, University Medical Center Utrecht
Chair of the Board, ReSViNet

Ursula Buchholz, Ph.D., D.V.M.
Senior Associate Scientist, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) – NIH

Janet Englund, M.D.
Professor of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, University of Washington, Seattle Children’s Hospital

Ann Falsey, M.D.
Professor of Infectious Diseases, University of Rochester Medical Center

Barney Graham, M.D., Ph.D.
Deputy Director, Vaccine Research Center, NIH
Chief, Viral Pathogenesis and Translational Science Core, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) – NIH

Ruth Karron, M.D.
Professor of International Health, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health
Director, Center for Immunization Research
Director, Johns Hopkins Vaccine Initiative


James Nokes, Ph.D.
Professor of Life Sciences, University of Warwick
Principal Investigator, KEMRI Wellcome Trust

Peter Openshaw, Ph.D.
Professor of Experimental Medicine, Imperial College of London

Fernando Polack, M.D.
Cesar Milstein Professor of Pediatrics, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Scientific Director, Fundacion INFANT

Ultan Power, Ph.D.
Reader in Molecular Virology, Queen’s University Belfast

Zizheng Zheng, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Xiamen University